April 14, 2010

CA Bill AB2689 Revision: Keep the Pressure On

Nothing like focused public pressure to get results. And no one is more focused than a dog and cat lover protecting the family pets from dumb legislation to roll back rabies law reform. GO ANIMAL LOVERS Keep the pressure on.

Per Kris Christine, The Rabies Challenge Fund, as posted to her Facebook page,  public response has caused Assembly Member Cameron Smyth's office to withdraw the language in AB 2689 lowering the age of puppy vaccination from 4 months to 3 months. However, as the law currently stands, the State Public Health Officer can require annual rabies vaccinations in rabies areas. Please call (916) 319-2038, (916) 319-3958, or email committee members (contact information below) and ask them to strike the language in the current law (121690) authorizing the State Health Officer to impose annual rabies vaccinations.

Below is a copy of her e-mail to AM Cameron Smyth's assistant, Kevin O'Neill. To access the law in question, go to this link http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/calaw.html , click on "Health and Safety Code" and enter 121690 for the keyword .

PERMISSION GRANTED TO POST AND CROSS-POST this notice, please spread the word and take action to change this law.

Cameron Smyth - Chair Rep-38 (916) 319-2038 Assemblymember.Smyth@assembly.ca.gov
Anna M. Caballero - Vice Chair Dem-28 (916) 319-2028 Assemblymember.Caballero@assembly.ca.gov
Juan Arambula Ind-31 (916) 319-2031 Assemblymember.Arambula@assembly.ca.gov
Steven Bradford Dem-51 (916) 319-2051 Assemblymember.Bradford@assembly.ca.gov
Mike Davis Dem-48 (916) 319-2048 Assemblymember.Davis@assembly.ca.gov
Steve Knight Rep-36 (916) 319-2036 Assemblymember.Knight@assembly.ca.gov
Dan Logue Rep-3 (916) 319-2003 Assemblymember.Logue@assembly.ca.gov
Jose Solorio Dem-69 (916) 319-2069 Assemblymember.Solorio@assembly.ca.gov

1 comment:

Laura Sanborn said...

The amendments are up and as Smyth's office promised, the controversial language about 3 months of age for the initial rabies vaccination has been deleted from AB 2689 :-)

This bill has reverted to its original positive intent, which is to facilitate easier methods for dog owners to send proof of rabies vaccination to their local government. As it stands now, California dog owners have to snail mail paperwork proof of rabies vaccination, which is a hassle. AB 2689 will allow for things like online forms on the Internet, where the dog owner just enters the rabies vaccination number. This is a win-win for everybody.

Other than that and some very minor wordsmithing, AB 2689 doesn't change existing law.

http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/pub/09-10/bill/asm/ab_2651-2700/ab_2689_bill_20100415_amended_asm_v97.html